Wednesday, July 22, 2009

"Waiting On" Wednesday: A Friend of the Family


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted here, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

A Friend of the Family
By Lauren Grodstein
Publication Date: November 10

From Amazon:
"Pete Dizinoff has spent years working toward a life that would be, by all measures, deemed successful. A skilled internist, he’s built a thriving practice in suburban New Jersey. He has a devoted wife, a network of close friends, and an impressive house, and most important, he has a son, Alec, on whom he’s pinned all his hopes. Pete has afforded Alec every opportunity, bailed him out of close calls with the law, and even ensured his acceptance into a good college.

But Pete never counted on the wild card: Laura, his best friend's daughter—ten years older than Alec, irresistibly beautiful, with a past so shocking that it’s never spoken of. When Laura sets her sights on Alec, Pete sees his plans for his son not just unraveling but being destroyed completely. Believing he has only the best of intentions, he sets out to derail this romance and rescue his son. He could never have foreseen how his whole world would shatter in the process.

Lauren Grodstein delivers a riveting story in the tradition of The Ice Storm, American Beauty, and Little Children, charting a father's fall from grace as he struggles to save his family, his reputation, and himself."

What's your "waiting on" pick this week?

Want to participate? Grab the logo, post your own WoW entry on your blog, and leave a link in the comments section!

43 comments:

Shon said...

This sounds good. I added it to my TBR List. Here's what I'm waiting for:

http://memybookandthecouch.blogspot.com/2009/07/waiting-on-wednesday.html

Mary said...

That sounds like an intense, gripping book!

Here's my WoW.

infiniteshelf said...

Oh, that sounds intriguing! Shocking pasts aways make great stories!

Here is mine : http://infiniteshelf.wordpress.com/2009/07/22/waiting-on-wednesday/

Diane said...

Good pick; I've added it to my list. Here is mine:
http://bibliophilebythesea.blogspot.com/2009/07/waiting-on-wednesday-day-falls-stood.html

Amelia said...

Oh that sounds REALLY good! I'm adding it to my WL now.

Here's my WoW

Marie Burton said...

I picked another Biblical story at The Burton Review

Zia said...

Sounds interesting. Here's my WoW

Kristi said...

Good pick! I will have to watch for this one!

Here is mine.

Kristen said...

This one sounds good! Here's mine:

http://www.bookworminginthe21stcentury.com/2009/07/waiting-on-wednesdays-this-world-we.html

writemeg said...

That cover is haunting!

I'm honoring my chick lit obsession again this week :)

My post is here!

Jacqueline C said...

This one sounds really good!

Here's my WoW pick

Sab H. said...

Interesting.. Good pick.
Here's mine:
http://crystalreviews.blogspot.com/2009/07/waiting-on-wednesday-2.html

purplg8r said...

Here is what I am waiting for.

Book Dragon said...

Sounds good, I'll be adding it to my wish list. here's mine

The Book Explorer said...

Here's mine for this week~

http://thebookexplorer.blogspot.com/2009/07/waiting-on-wednesday-6.html

Missy said...

That sounds really good!

Here's mine:

http://missysbooknook.blogspot.com/2009/07/waiting-on-wednesday_2501.html

Fayeflame said...

I haven't heard of this 1, it sounds interesting

Here's Mine

Katie said...

Here's mine:
http://katiesbookshelf11.blogspot.com/2009/07/waiting-on-wednesday-14.html

vvb32 reads said...

ooh, this is one of those stories that run shivers up your spine - such drama. i'll have to add it to my list.

here's my YA pick:
http://vvb32reads.blogspot.com/2009/07/waiting-on-wednesday-9.html

Jazz said...

I am a bit afraid of what that man will do to save his family.

Here is my Jane Austen vampire novel WoW:

http://missdanaidae.blogspot.com/2009/07/waiting-on-wednesday-3-mr-darcy-vampyre.html

Lit and Life said...

This sounds great--I'll have to pick it up.

ann marie said...

Your book sounds great, will be adding to my book list.

Here is my WoW:
http://annmariebro.blogspot.com/

Bianca said...

Sounds like an interesting read!


I posted my at http://wickedgoodbooks.blogspot.com

Lizzy said...

Interesting choice this week. Here's mine: http://cornucopiaofreviews.blogspot.com/2009/07/waiting-on-wednesday_22.html

Melanie said...

i had a little different take this week http://tigermel.blogspot.com/2009/07/waiting-on-wednesday-unwritten-books.html

MssJos said...

Here is mine!

http://www.royalreads.com/2009/07/waiting-on-wednesday-2.html#comments

Library Lounge Lizard said...

Sounds like a great book!
Here's my WoW choice...

Library Lounge Lizard

Lori said...

Here's mine!

http://lorilaws.blogspot.com/2009/07/waiting-on-wednesday-betrayals.html

Ksenia said...

Always good to know what's coming out in the adult fiction world. Thanks!
Here is my pick for the week

Book Butterfly (Kim) said...

Here's mine for the week:

http://butterflybookreviews.blogspot.com/2009/07/waiting-on-wednesday-8-seven-rays-by.html

Lenore said...

Mine's up right here.

lulugirl_9 said...

That book sounds good. It is added to my to-read list.
My WoW choice can be found at:
http://imwaitingonwednesday.blogspot.com/

Jennifer said...

Wow, this one looks great! Adding it to my wishlist!!
Here's mine!

Ladybug said...

The description of A friend of the family definitely got me interested! Great find!

I'm waiting for a book called Meridian.

Sara said...

My WoW post is located here:

http://thehidingspot.blogspot.com/2009/07/waiting-on-wednesday-4.html

on my blog, The Hiding Spot!

Mariah said...

Sounds great here is my WoW

http://mariah-readingadventure.blogspot.com/2009/07/waiting-on-wednesday.html

Ink Mage said...

Here is mine for the week.

cat said...

Mine's up here!! Thanks!

wisteria said...

I like this post Waiting On....
I will participate next week. Thanks. This book sounds like it is worth waiting for.

Catt said...

Ooh, sounds very cool! Here's mine: http://thedreamereader.blogspot.com/2009/07/waiting-on-wednesday-8.html

Thanks for hosting this awesome meme! You rock!

Eli said...

Oops. Posting mine a bit late, but here it is!

http://tainted-poet.blogspot.com/2009/07/waiting-on-wednesday-8.html

Kris@Bookheart said...

Your WoW is interesting. I especially like that it takes place in my state of NJ!

This is my first time participating :) My WoW is here.

TringulaDating said...

nice blogging on ..
Breaking the Spine
For free matrimony, free social networking for singles, free Online dating site providing Dating services for free to singles. Any kind of singles, thin singles, fat singles, parent singles, singles dad mom are invited for free dating.