Wednesday, December 28, 2011

"Waiting On" Wednesday: The Master's Muse

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted here, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

The Master's Muse
By Varley O’Connor
Publication Date: May 8

From Amazon:

In the tradition of Loving Frank and The Paris Wife comes an unforgettable novel based on the life of George Balanchine’s fifth wife, a star ballerina whose career was cut short after she contracted polio at 26. Once author Varley O’Connor, the daughter of a polio survivor, came across the facts about Tanaquil (Tanny) Le Clercq, she could not get the story out of her mind. O’Connor dug deeper, reading countless articles and interviews, and watching hundreds of hours of documentaries and New York City Ballet footage to capture Le Clercq’s essence. The result is an evocative, compelling portrayal of the 17-year marriage between George Balanchine—the ballet master credited with creating an American style of dance—and his final wife. 


What's your "waiting on" pick this week?

Want to participate? Grab the logo, post your own WoW entry on your blog, and leave your link below!


 

41 comments:

ashelynn hetland said...

ooh. i'm intrigued by the cover and summary. great pick!

Andie Z said...

Wow, great pick! As a former dancer I'm definitely interested in this. Thanks for sharing!

Bibliosaurus Text said...

I haven't read the books it compares it to, but am intrigued by the mention of Balanchine. Sounds good!

Christy @ TheReaderBee said...

This sounds like an interesting read! I've been wanting to read The Paris Wife for a while now as well. :) Awesome pick!

June G said...

You always find the most unusual reads!

Sagacity Quest said...

Nice pick! It sounds really interesting!

Kat said...

That's an interesting pick. I'll have to look into it :)

carly said...

Great pick, sounds very interesting, I hadn't heard of it. Thanks for sharing. :)

My WOW

http://fictionfascination.blogspot.com/2011/12/waiting-on-wednesday-3.html

Carly :)

Jez said...

This sounds interesting. I'm always up for a novel that has any element of music. Thanks for sharing!

Jez @ Jez's Bookcase

Creations by Laurel-Rain Snow said...

Oh, this does sound like a wonderful book...thanks for sharing.

JJ iReads said...

Sounds interesting. I'm not one to read historical books but this sounds very intriguing. Awesome pick.

JJ iReads
Check out what I'm WAITING ON this week

Tina's Blog said...

I loved The Paris Wife - this one looks really good.

Wonder_ said...

Interesting pick ;)

bermudaonion said...

That sounds right up my alley.

Vanya Drum said...

Sounds interesting :)

Wendy Lohr said...

Good pick! Sounds very interesting.

Wendy @ Escape Into Fiction

Amy said...

That sounds like a fantastic read. Thank you for sharing.

Melissa said...

Sounds like a great pick!!

Jennifer Ochs said...

Looks like an interesting read!

Bob (Beauty in Ruins) said...

Interestng pick - enjoy the read

Burgandy Ice said...

That looks like a great book!!

I posted Don't Breathe a Word, which is coming out SOON!!! :-)

www.burgandyice.blogspot.com

Sonythebooklover said...

You always choose great books i've never heard of, great pick.

BURIED IN BOOKS said...

Great Pick! Five Wives...that's a lot! And to be struck down by polio at such a young age, that's tragic. I don't usually read biographies or nonfiction, but this one might be too interesting to pass up!


Heather

Hannah said...

Great pick! I have always been fascinated by the world of professional ballet.

Peppermint Ph.D. said...

I love this kind of read...adding this one to my WishList :)

Tribute Books Mama said...

A great and interesting pick.

http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2011/12/waiting-on-wednesday_28.html

Hollie said...

Great choice, this sounds like a great read! :)

aparajita said...

interesting need to look into it now.

Check out mine HERE

Maddie (aka Pete) said...

Based on the cover alone, I'm headed to Goodreads to add this to my list. Thanks! :)

Maia said...

oooh awesome pick :)

Lisa Mandina said...

This one sounds very interesting! I'll add it to my TBR list!

Joy said...

Great storyline! Have a Happy New Year ;)

Lori @ Romancing the Darkside said...

This sounds like an emotional read. Thanks for sharing!

Nisha (Midnight Books) said...

The cover looks really nice! I can't wait to see your review on it =)

Cristina said...

Interesting pick. I haven't read any by this author. Looking forward to your review.

Molly Gibson-Mee said...

Great cover and summary!

Frishawn said...

I want it!!!!!!!!

(Diane) Bibliophile By the Sea said...

Oops, forgot to add the link earlier today. http://bibliophilebythesea.blogspot.com/2011/12/waiting-on-wednesday-affair-alicia.html

Your pick makes me curious Jill.

TayteH said...

Check mine out when you have time. :D
TayteH @ Reading in Paradise.

Melissa West said...

Oh this sounds really great and love the cover. Adding to my TBR now. :)

Amy said...

Great pick! I can't figure out how to add my link to your linky! It says Your Next but it wont let me click it.

so here is my WoW